Leaving your comfortzone gets you energized.

ImageLast week it was April’s foolsday. A good friend of mine decided after 20 years of being a housepainter, to start a career as an artist. Next week he wants to open his atelier/galerie (at his house in the city center of Eindhoven). To attract attention to this opening, he came up with an April’s foolsjoke. He asked four of his female friends to sit behind the windows as prostitutes, with red lights on, so it looked a lot like Amsterdam. Ofcourse his friends felt a little strange about it, but also saw a good joke in this, so they agreed. And they did attract a lot of attention from passing cars, bycicles and pedestrians.

After 1 hour the police came to stop the whole thing, and they couln’t appreciate the joke. The next day there was an article about it in the local newspaper, so mission accomplished for my friend.

Why do I want to share this story with you?

Well, for starters it shows that a creative idea can get you free publicity.

But, for me the thing that got me writing about this, was the energy of the girls after their experience.

I didn’t see the girls sit behind the window (unfortunately I was too late), but I met them later in a bar. The energy of the four women was very high and they were almost radiating. The reason for this was that they did something that was outside of their comfortzone, a little scary, but they did it anyway. Stretching their comfortzone apparantly generated lots of energy.

I see this same thing happening with people in trainingsituations. The one’s who dare themselves to leave their save comfortzone…”I’m afraid, but I’m gonna do it anyway”…learn the most and get really energized from the experience.

Wish you many out of your comfortzone experiences!!

And please share them as a comment on this post. What was your OUT OF MY COMFORTZONE moment? Did you feel energized?

With enthusiasm,

Annemarie Steen

Here is the article from the dutch newspaper: Vervelend staartje dreigt voor 1-aprilgrap – Eindhoven Stad – Regio – ED

4 responses to “Leaving your comfortzone gets you energized.

  1. Great story! And certainly a great way of getting some attention for a gallery. I myself try to go out of my comfortzone as much as I can….or at least once a week. A recent step out of my comfort zone was participating in a team building event where we had to go through a tree top parcour with http://www.goape.co.uk. Not a problem for most of the people but when you are scared of heights like me then this a major challenge. It took me a while to get used to it but after about an hour I started having fun. After the day in the trees I had a great feeling of accomplishment and pride. Keep posting about these things. Have a great Easter weekend. Roman

  2. Thanks for the reminder! I try to get out of my comfort zone as often as possible but sometimes you just stop because you forgot about it! I guess I haven´t been out as much lately.

  3. Thanks for sharing the innovative story.
    Going out of your comfort zone is like going out of your limited understanding of yourself. Once you go out of box, you’ll find yourself far more capable then you ever imagined. It is the fear that is griping us and inhibiting us to move forward and ‘make a difference’. For that is the reason we have come into this world, ‘to make the difference’ in our lives and in the lives of others. That is to me going out of my comfort zone.

  4. A nice acronum for FEAR = False Evidence Appearing Real. So going out of your comfort zone means to be willing to try something new in order to investigate whether your ‘evidence’ (belief) is false or true…

Leave a Reply

